top of page
  • Writer's pictureFranzi Shelton

Blackout Poetry

Updated: Jun 4, 2020

Blackout Poetry is a wonderful way to practice mindfulness in your home. Also, if you are currently homeschooling your child due to COVID-19, blackout poetry is a great way to cover some of your child's ELA standards.


What you need:

  • Any old book (I like to get old books at the thrift store)

  • A black marker

  • Crayons for decorating your poems


Directions:

  • Without reading the page in advance, tear out any page from a book.

  • Choose words to create a poem. Add a border around these words.

  • "Blackout" the rest of the page, so that only your poem is visible.

  • Optional: you can add images and/or patterns to your page.


Here are my three poems:


  1. Ghosts from the past: Along peaceful country roads, I remembered the painful years.

  2. Nowhere to hide: My train stops along narrow, winding roads. In the streets, strangers greet me with tears in their eyes. Sorrow all around me.

  3. Stormy weather: An unnatural wind fought through branches at the far end of the field. Clouds engulfed the scene in darkness. I laughed watching the rain.





88 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page